• Introducing Convatec’s Ostomy Nurse Solutions App

In order to further support the development needs of non-clinical staff working in care settings and help ensure that they can make the best and most rewarding contributions, the PMA are offering this new e-learning programme to enhance traditional learning and bolster existing teaching methods. We are delighted to share details of the first of many PMA e-learning options which launches on 24th September 2019.

NHS England and Health Education England have both endorsed significant elements of the PMA e-learning programme so you can be assured that it embodies best practice and is mapped to support the initiatives laid out in the NHS Long Term Plan.

The ILM approved, Excellence in Supporting Healthcare, certificate is the first e-learning programme of its kind and has been piloted in South London. It is an exciting collaboration between the PMA, Our Healthier South East London Sustainability and Transformation Partnership (OHSEL STP) and itslearning UK who are providing the Learning Management System. It provides a non-clinical development opportunity equipping staff with the skills to better support the clinical workforce and improve the patient/carer experience and supports career pathways for staff involved in primary care, secondary care, allied professional, social and voluntary sectors. The programme is broad-based and aims to provide a generic overview of competencies required at this level and it is complimented by suggested further resources.

Level 2 Competency Framework – as developed by Our Healthier south east London

The course has been developed around the following eight competencies:

1. Ethical practice
2. Effective communication
3. Information governance
4. Protecting patients
5. Motivating and supporting skills
6. Organising and networking skills
7. Self-awareness
8. CQC compliance

Joining the programme

Recruitment for this e-learning programme has just commenced. The start date for new learners is set for 1st September 2019.

Once enrolled, you will be directed through a suggested sequence of modules, but they can be completed in any order. Each module consists of a number of units which includes various forms of information aimed to appeal to various learning styles. A range of additional resources including reports, links to websites and useful videos are also included. To help aid your understanding about health and welfare services, you will be guided to specific advice for your local area.

The programme uses compelling and engaging methodology and technology to ensure your online experience is rich and rewarding and delivers the best possible outcomes for you.

There is an itslearning App available for phones and tablets, allowing you to work whenever and wherever is convenient for you.

You must answer the questions and achieve the pass rate to complete the modules and obtain the ILM certificate. However, you can repeat quizzes and knowledge checks as often as needed. There are no trick questions.

How long will it take to complete?

The 26 units are of varying lengths and detail. The amount of time required to complete the programme in full is dependent on your experience and knowledge of the topic. We estimate 26-52 hours in total over a period of 6 months or less.

What happens next?

Once all units and knowledge checks are completed, the PMA will be notified. You will then be registered with the ILM for the Excellence in Supporting Healthcare certificate. An electronic acknowledgment will be sent to you and the certificate will follow by post a couple of weeks later.

If you would like more information, please contact the PMA Team at education@pma-uk.org